Search form

Board of Governors

CSS MenuMaker

UWCSEA benefits from a highly experienced Board of Governors. The role of the Board is to set directions, establish policies, ensure accountability, and provide leadership to improve the learning environment for the students at the College. The Board draws a clear line between governance and management and operates at a strategic level. It does not involve itself in the day-to-day running of the College.

The Board is made up of members elected by the constituencies of Interested Parties and by members elected in a personal capacity (Ad Personam) by the Board acting as a Nominations Committee. There are also some members selected to represent various organisations who are not subject to election.

The Board meets formally four times a year. Between meetings, Board Members are expected to serve on one of the five Board Committees (Audit and Risk, Education and Talent, Engagement, Finance and Infrastructure and Governance). Board Members may also be asked to assist with matters on an ad hoc basis.

At meetings, Board Members are expected to base their views on an impartial assessment of the available facts and hence act and vote according to conscience and judgment. On a less formal basis, Board members support College events and functions, and are advocates of the College within the wider community.


Anna Lord
Sajjad Akhtar
Interim Chair of Board

Sajjad Akhtar is the Executive Chairman of PKF-CAP LLP Singapore, a member firm of PKF International. He qualified as a chartered accountant from the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and holds an MBA from the University Of Chicago, Booth School of Business. He is also a Fellow of the Institute of Singapore Chartered Accountants. Sajjad is formerly the Chairman of the board of PKF International, the UK based HQ of the PKF global network of independent accounting and business advisory firms.

Sajjad was formerly a Senior Partner of Arthur Andersen, Singapore and worked with the firm for 27 years. Sajjad joined Arthur Andersen in London in 1975 and transferred to Singapore in 1980. He has extensive Attest and Business Advisory experience with clients ranging from listed companies and large multinationals to small and medium growing enterprises operating in a diverse range of industries. His industry experience includes electronics manufacturing, software development, oil and petrochemicals, banking and financial services, shipping, construction, advertising and hospitality.

Sajjad specialises in Disputes Consulting, and frequently acts as independent financial expert in complex commercial claims and disputes. In this capacity he has extensive experience in writing expert reports and giving oral testimony in the High Courts.

Sajjad has served in a number of key regulatory roles, including as a member of the Accounting Standards Council (“ASC”) from November 2007 to November 2009; He was appointed as a Board member of Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (ACRA) from 2012 to 2018 and also served as a member of the Public Accountants Oversight Committee (PAOC) over that period. Currently he is a member of the National Library Board (NLB) (since 2015) and serves as chair of the Finance Committee. In addition, Sajjad was appointed a member of the Ethics Committee of the Public Accountants Oversight Committee of ACRA in 2010 and has been its chairman since 2015.

Sajjad has been an active member of the Rotary Club of Singapore (“RCS”) since 1987. He served as its President in 2000 - 01. Over the years, he has been associated with many of its community service and vocational activities.

Sajjad has been a District Councillor of the Southwest Community Development Council (SWCDC) for many years and serves as chair of its Finance committee. He was awarded the Public Service Medal (PBM) and the Public Service Star (BBM) in the National Day Honours for 2007 and 2016 respectively, by the President of Singapore.

Sajjad Akhtar
Vivek Kalra
Carma Elliot CMG OBE
Kim Teo '76
Surinder Kathpalia
Caroline McLaughlin
Benjamin Detenber
Priti Devi
Subodh Chanrai '82
Pamela Kelly Wetzell
Mark Porter
Seng Chee Ho
Heather Carmichael
Stefanie Green


Audit and Risk Committee Education and Talent Committee Engagement Committee Finance and Infrastructure Committee Governance Committee Committee of Chairs
Surinder Kathpalia Heather Carmichael Priti Devi Sajjad Akhtar Subodh Chanrai Sajjad Akhtar
Board Members
Heather Carmichael Carma Elliot Caroline McLaughlin Vivek Kalra Carma Elliot Heather Carmichael
Seng Chee Ho Carma Elliot Carma Elliot Surinder Kathpalia Subodh Chanrai
  Benjamin Detenber     Pamela Kelly Wetzell Priti Devi
  Mark Porter     Kim Teo Surinder Kathpalia
          Andy Budden
WT Cheah Brian McAdoo Steve Okun Philip Motteram Ruby Lee  
Dimple Sanghi   Leon Toh Tara Garson Flower    
Jonathan Forth     Sharat Sinha    
      Rahul Raj    
      Prabhat Ojha    


Academic Board Examination Board
Carma Elliot Carma Elliot
Elizabeth Bray Elizabeth Bray
Graham Silverthorne Graham Silverthorne